Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Bright Stars Academy

712 E Tidwell Rd Ste J, Houston, TX 77022 · Harris County
Conditions on permit1 high-risk citation in last 12 monthsAccepts child care subsidies

Bright Stars Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 78 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2006. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 10 times and investigated 2 reports. Inspectors recorded 10 citations, 2 of them high-risk, most often for training & qualifications (4 of 10). 4 citations came in the last 12 months, including 1 high-risk. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #328 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 37% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 37%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. More citations than most
Tied for #328 of 882 centers in Houston
2High risk
4Medium High risk
2Medium risk
2Medium Low risk
0Low risk
10 citations from 10 inspections and 2 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 4 in the last 12 months · last inspected Aug 14, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Aug 14, 2026 · Inspection · no citationJul 17, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundJul 21, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJan 21, 2025 · Assessment · citation foundAug 6, 2024 · Inspection · no citationAug 4, 2024 · Report/investigation · no citationJul 24, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundJan 19, 2024 · Assessment · citation foundAug 2, 2023 · Inspection · no citationApr 13, 2023 · Inspection · no citationApr 3, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundMar 30, 2023 · Report/investigation · no citationAug 10, 2022 · Inspection · no citationOct 28, 2021 · Inspection · no citation
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Training & qualifications4
Records & paperwork3
Supervision2
Building & playground safety1

Citations, newest first

Medium HighJul 17, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact §746.605(6)
Four of the reviewed children files did not have a completed emergency contact address.
Correction verified Jul 21, 2026
Medium HighJul 17, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment §746.3407
A pole on a table in the outdoor play area was cracked with a hole. The padding in the outdoor play area was torn with exposed padding.
Correction verified Jul 21, 2026
HighJul 17, 2026InspectionSupervision
Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity §746.1205(a)(4)
A classroom was left unsupervised when the sole caregiver in the classroom left the classroom to open the door of the operation and to transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when the caregiver left the classroom to retrieve a sign in sheet log.
Correction verified Aug 14, 2026
Medium HighJul 17, 2026InspectionTraining & qualifications
Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR §746.1315(b)
A caregiver had a CPR certificate that expired on 5.2026. Two caregivers did not have a current CPR certificate.
Correction verified Aug 1, 2026
Medium LowJan 21, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Correction verified Jan 23, 2025
MediumJul 24, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Additional required topics §746.1311(e)
The director's annual training for the month of 0ct 2022-Oct 2023 is missing the following required training. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Administering medication. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2024
Medium HighJul 24, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking. §746.1315(a)
The directorand three caregivers are missing their CPR and First-Aid training.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2024
MediumJul 24, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training- Required Content §746.1309(e)
The infant caregiver annual training for the month of 9/21/22-09/21/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Administering medication. The after-school caregiver annual training for the months of 9/7/22-9/7/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2024
Medium LowJan 19, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
Correction verified Jan 22, 2024
HighApr 3, 2023InspectionSupervision
Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity §746.1205(a)(4)
The caregiver walked out the classroom and left five children unattended.
Correction verified Apr 13, 2023

About this center

Licensed capacity78 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours06:00 AM-06:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceMar 22, 2006
DirectorGwendolyn Williams
Phone7136958994
State operation #854203

Common questions

Does Bright Stars Academy take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are Bright Stars Academy’s hours?

6 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Bright Stars Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does Bright Stars Academy cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Bright Stars Academy for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has Bright Stars Academy had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 2 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Jul 17, 2026: “Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Bright Stars Academy compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #328 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 37% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Bright Stars Academy last inspected?

Aug 14, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 854203 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.