Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Discovery Years Learning Center

6847 Addicks Satsuma Rd, Houston, TX 77084 · Harris County
Accepts child care subsidies

Discovery Years Learning Center is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 95 children and serving toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1997. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 9 times and investigated 3 reports. Inspectors recorded 8 citations, 1 of them high-risk, most often for training & qualifications (2 of 8). None of them came in the last 12 months. 12% were corrected during the inspection itself. Its last 3 inspections found no violations. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #290 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 42% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 42%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. About typical
Tied for #290 of 882 centers in Houston
1High risk
5Medium High risk
0Medium risk
2Medium Low risk
0Low risk
8 citations from 9 inspections and 2 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 0 in the last 12 months · last inspected Sep 16, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Sep 16, 2026 · Inspection · no citationApr 27, 2026 · Inspection · no citationApr 16, 2026 · Report/investigation · no citationSep 17, 2025 · Inspection · no citationOct 22, 2024 · Assessment · citation foundSep 23, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundOct 5, 2023 · Inspection · no citationJan 27, 2023 · Assessment · citation foundOct 26, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundJul 11, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundMay 18, 2022 · Inspection · no citationMay 14, 2022 · Report/investigation · no citationFeb 28, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundNov 18, 2021 · Inspection · no citationNov 2, 2021 · Inspection · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Training & qualifications2
Records & paperwork2
Building & playground safety2
Health & medication1
Supervision1

Citations, newest first

Medium HighOct 22, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Additional Minimum Qualifications for Caregivers - HS Diploma, Equivalent, Certification of Completion §746.1107(2)
1 out of 8 personnel files reviewed obtained a high school diploma from Marquee, a fraudelent company producing high school diplomas.
Correction verified Oct 30, 2024
Medium HighSep 23, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Additional Minimum Qualifications for Caregivers - HS Diploma, Equivalent, Certification of Completion §746.1107(2)
1 out of 8 personnel files reviewed obtained a high school diploma from Marquee, a fraudelent company producing high school diplomas.
Correction verified Oct 22, 2024
Medium LowJan 27, 2023InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2022 by January 15, 2023, as required.
Correction verified Jan 30, 2023
Medium HighOct 26, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered §746.3701(1)
During the inspection one room was not observed with childproof covers. Note: this was corrected at the inspection time.
Corrected during the visit
Medium HighJul 11, 2022Found during an investigationHealth & medication
AP Report Child Injury Requiring Medical Treatment by a Health-Care Professional or Hospitalization §746.305(a)(2)
Based on information obtained during the investigation, a violation of this minimum standard did occur.
Correction verified Jul 25, 2022
Medium LowFeb 28, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Feb 28, 2022
HighNov 2, 2021InspectionSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For §746.1203(2)
Two caregivers in different classrooms were not aware of how many children they had in care.
Correction verified Nov 18, 2021
Medium HighNov 2, 2021InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Safety Requirements for Sprinkler Play - Equipment and Water Hoses Kept Out of Child's Reach §746.5015(c)
There was an unrolled water hose on the playground. The children were using the equipment where the water hose and this can cause a child or adult to trip.
Correction verified Nov 18, 2021

About this center

Licensed capacity95 children
Ages servedToddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours06:30 AM-06:30 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceSep 22, 1997
DirectorRobert Seaman, Jr.
Phone2818610404
State operation #524867

Common questions

Does Discovery Years Learning Center take infants?

No. Its Texas license covers toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children, not infants.

What are Discovery Years Learning Center’s hours?

6:30 AM to 6:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Discovery Years Learning Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does Discovery Years Learning Center cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Discovery Years Learning Center for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $40.80 a day for toddlers, $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds and $37.20 a day for school-age children (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has Discovery Years Learning Center had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 1 high-risk citation since 2021. The most recent was on Nov 2, 2021: “Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Discovery Years Learning Center compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #290 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 42% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Discovery Years Learning Center last inspected?

Sep 16, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 524867 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.