Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

El Jardin De Ninos

3510 Southmost Rd, Brownsville, TX 78521 · Cameron County
Accepts child care subsidies

El Jardin De Ninos is a licensed child care center in Brownsville, TX, licensed for up to 16 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2020. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 12 times and investigated 1 report. Inspectors recorded 15 citations, 0 of them high-risk, most often for records & paperwork (8 of 15). 4 citations came in the last 12 months. 7% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is #75 of 106 centers in Brownsville and better than 38% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 38%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. More citations than most
#75 of 106 centers in Brownsville
0High risk
4Medium High risk
8Medium risk
3Medium Low risk
0Low risk
15 citations from 12 inspections and 1 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 4 in the last 12 months · last inspected Sep 10, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Sep 10, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundJul 22, 2026 · Inspection · no citationJun 16, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundJan 23, 2026 · Assessment · citation foundSep 29, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundMar 17, 2025 · Inspection · no citationOct 2, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundJan 22, 2024 · Assessment · citation foundNov 14, 2023 · Inspection · no citationJul 21, 2023 · Inspection · no citationJul 18, 2023 · Report/investigation · no citationJan 27, 2023 · Inspection · no citationDec 14, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundMar 1, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundJan 13, 2022 · Inspection · no citationDec 29, 2021 · Inspection · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Records & paperwork8
Building & playground safety3
Training & qualifications3
Other standards1

Citations, newest first

MediumSep 10, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Physician Information §746.605(10)
Three of four files reviewed were missing the information for the physician to contact in case of emergency. The inofmration was added to the files during the inspection.
Corrected during the visit
MediumJun 16, 2026InspectionOther standards
Space Requirements for School-age - Interest Centers Used Independently §746.2703(1)(A)
The school age classroom has not been set up yet.
Correction verified Jun 18, 2026
Medium HighJun 16, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Emergency Evacuation and Relocation Diagram - Posted in Each Room §746.5207(b)
The evacuation diagram has not been posted.
Correction verified Jun 18, 2026
Medium LowJan 23, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, determined the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
Correction verified Mar 20, 2026
MediumSep 29, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Documentation of Drills §746.5205(4)
The center last documented a fire drill on 07/14/2025.
Correction verified Oct 17, 2025
MediumOct 2, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required §746.1309(a)
2 staff files reviewed had no verification of training hours at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Nov 14, 2024
Medium HighOct 2, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pre-Service Training §746.1301(a)(2)(A)
New staff member does not have the 24 hours of pre-service at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Nov 14, 2024
Medium HighOct 2, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
Annual health inspection has not been updated. Last inspected on 4/4/2023.
Correction verified Dec 3, 2024
MediumOct 2, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training 30 Hours Required §746.1311(a)
There were no training hours available for review at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Nov 14, 2024
Medium LowJan 22, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 22, 2024, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2023, as required.
Correction verified Jan 25, 2024
Medium HighDec 14, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Infant Daily Report - Share with Parent §746.2431
Infant daily reports were not available for the infants in care.
Correction verified Jan 27, 2023
MediumDec 14, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Personnel Records §746.901
The four files reviewed were incomplete.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2022
MediumDec 14, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Children's Records Maintained §746.603(a)
Three of four records reviewed were incomplete.
Correction verified Jan 27, 2023
Medium LowMar 1, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees who left employment in 2021 date from February 23, 2021 revealed that the center had not yet reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2021, as required.
Correction verified Mar 24, 2022
MediumDec 29, 2021InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Children's Records §746.801(1)
The center did not have the most recent Consumer Product Safety Certification or proof that parents have been notified that the center does not have liability insurance.
Correction verified Jan 13, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity16 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours07:00 AM-07:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceJan 10, 2020
DirectorJosie Moreno
Phone9566203053
State operation #1684935

Common questions

Does El Jardin De Ninos take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are El Jardin De Ninos’s hours?

7 AM to 7 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does El Jardin De Ninos accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does El Jardin De Ninos cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask El Jardin De Ninos for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Cameron area, which includes Brownsville, is $41.00 a day for infants, $39.80 a day for toddlers and $38.80 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has El Jardin De Ninos had any serious violations?

No high-risk citations since 2021. It has 15 lower-risk citations, listed above.

How does El Jardin De Ninos compare with other daycares in Brownsville?

It is #75 of 106 centers in Brownsville by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 38% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was El Jardin De Ninos last inspected?

Sep 10, 2026. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 1684935 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.