Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Episcopal Day School Day Care

34 N Coria St, Brownsville, TX 78520 · Cameron County

Episcopal Day School Day Care is a licensed child care center in Brownsville, TX, licensed for up to 153 children and serving toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1987. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 5 times. Inspectors recorded 3 citations, 0 of them high-risk, most often for records & paperwork (2 of 3). 1 citation came in the last 12 months. Its last 4 inspections found no violations. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #38 of 106 centers in Brownsville and better than 72% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 72%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. About typical
Tied for #38 of 106 centers in Brownsville
0High risk
1Medium High risk
0Medium risk
2Medium Low risk
0Low risk
3 citations from 5 inspections and 0 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 1 in the last 12 months · last inspected Nov 17, 2025

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Jan 23, 2026 · Assessment · citation foundNov 17, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJan 24, 2025 · Assessment · citation foundNov 21, 2024 · Inspection · no citationDec 5, 2023 · Inspection · no citationDec 5, 2022 · Inspection · no citationJan 4, 2022 · Inspection · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Records & paperwork2
Building & playground safety1

Citations, newest first

Medium LowJan 23, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, determined the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
Correction verified Mar 9, 2026
Medium LowJan 24, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 from January 21, 2025, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Correction verified Jan 27, 2025
Medium HighJan 4, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
Annual health inspection has not been updated. Last inspected on 11/13/2019.
Correction verified Jan 19, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity153 children
Ages servedToddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours12:00 PM-05:30 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceFeb 26, 1987
DirectorYovana Varela
Phone9565425231
State operation #195710

Common questions

Does Episcopal Day School Day Care take infants?

No. Its Texas license covers toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children, not infants.

What are Episcopal Day School Day Care’s hours?

12 PM to 5:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Episcopal Day School Day Care accept child care subsidies?

Not according to its state licensing record. Ask the center directly, since participation can change.

How much does Episcopal Day School Day Care cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Episcopal Day School Day Care for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Cameron area, which includes Brownsville, is $39.80 a day for toddlers, $38.80 a day for 3-year-olds and $37.20 a day for school-age children (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has Episcopal Day School Day Care had any serious violations?

No high-risk citations since 2021. It has 3 lower-risk citations, listed above.

How does Episcopal Day School Day Care compare with other daycares in Brownsville?

It is tied for #38 of 106 centers in Brownsville by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 72% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Episcopal Day School Day Care last inspected?

Nov 17, 2025. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 195710 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.