Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

International School of San Antonio

6739 Callaghan Rd, San Antonio, TX 78229 · Bexar County

International School of San Antonio is a licensed child care center in San Antonio, TX, licensed for up to 73 children and serving toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2021. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 17 times and investigated 3 reports. Inspectors recorded 20 citations, 6 of them high-risk, most often for building & playground safety (5 of 20). 1 citation came in the last 12 months. 30% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #330 of 476 centers in San Antonio and better than 26% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 26%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. More citations than most
Tied for #330 of 476 centers in San Antonio
6High risk
6Medium High risk
6Medium risk
2Medium Low risk
0Low risk
20 citations from 17 inspections and 0 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 1 in the last 12 months · last inspected May 18, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)May 18, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundSep 11, 2025 · Inspection · no citationAug 6, 2025 · Inspection · no citationMay 21, 2025 · Inspection · no citationOct 10, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundMay 8, 2024 · Inspection · no citationApr 1, 2024 · Inspection · no citationMar 21, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundMar 19, 2024 · Report/investigation · citation foundOct 20, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundDec 1, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundSep 27, 2022 · Inspection · no citationSep 14, 2022 · Inspection · no citationSep 12, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundAug 10, 2022 · Inspection · no citationJun 28, 2022 · Inspection · no citationJan 28, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundDec 8, 2021 · Inspection · citation foundNov 2, 2021 · Inspection · citation foundOct 4, 2021 · Inspection · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Building & playground safety5
Records & paperwork5
Health & medication4
Supervision3
Other standards1
Staff ratios1
Background checks1

Citations, newest first

Medium HighMay 18, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less §746.4907(a)(1)
The loose-fill on the playground is not installed to the required depth of six inches under and around the playground structure.
Correction verified May 31, 2026
MediumOct 10, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Children's Records Maintained §746.603(a)
One of the six children files was unavailable for review. One of the six children was missing the immunization records.
Correction verified Oct 15, 2024
Medium HighOct 10, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Fire Extinguishers Serviced §746.5307(b)
Four of the fire extinguishers were last serviced on 8.2023.
Correction verified Oct 15, 2024
HighMar 21, 2024InspectionSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for §746.1205(a)(2)
The teacher in the PreK Spanish classroom stated there were 10 children in care when there were actually 11 children in care.
Correction verified Apr 1, 2024
HighMar 19, 2024Found during an investigationSupervision
Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity §746.1205(a)(4)
It was determined based on the interviews conducted and information gathered that an incident had occurred when a three-year child was left in the classroom unsupervised.
Correction verified Apr 1, 2024
MediumOct 20, 2023InspectionHealth & medication
Medication No Longer Used §746.3809
An allergy medication stored in the office was observed to have expired 10/2021.
Correction verified Oct 24, 2023
Medium HighOct 20, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Safety - Play Materials and Equipment Safe §746.3701(5)
On the Preschool playground four CVC white pipes were observed unattached.
Correction verified Oct 24, 2023
Medium HighOct 20, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures §746.5202(1)
The emergency preparedness plan did not specify the designated location or address of this location. Included the emergency evacuation route and relocation diagram.
Correction verified Oct 26, 2023
Medium HighDec 1, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact §746.605(6)
Six of the six children files didn't have emergency contact addresses. One of the six children files didn't have release information. One of the six children files didn't have healthcare authorization information. Two of the six children files didn't have food allergy information.
Correction verified Dec 5, 2022
MediumDec 1, 2022InspectionOther standards
Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age §746.4503(a)
Two mats were observed torn exposing the cotton.
Correction verified Dec 5, 2022
Medium LowDec 1, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit §746.901(4)
One of the six staff didn't have an affidavit available for review.
Correction verified Dec 5, 2022
HighSep 12, 2022Found during an investigationSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Supervision of Children §746.1203(4)
During the course of the investigation supervision was determined to have occurred after a four-year child walked out of the front of the building of the operation unsupervised. The child was brought in by a staff member into the building after 1 minute 30 seconds.
Correction verified Sep 27, 2022
Medium HighJan 28, 2022Found during an investigationHealth & medication
Report Outbreak of Communicable Illness §746.305(a)(4)
Based upon information gathered and interviews conducted Licensing nor the Health Department were notified within 48 hours by the operation.
Correction verified Feb 2, 2022
HighDec 8, 2021InspectionHealth & medication
Required Admission Information - Emergency Medical Authorization §746.605(12)
Two of the six children files did not have Emergency authorization information available.
Correction verified Dec 13, 2021
Medium LowDec 8, 2021InspectionRecords & paperwork
Posting Requirements - Telephone Numbers §746.401(8)
Emergency Telephone Numbers was not available for review. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when Form 7243 was provided, filled out and posted.
Corrected during the visit
MediumDec 8, 2021InspectionStaff ratios
Written Operational Policies - Emergencies §746.501(a)(5)
The operational policy did not specify procedures for handling medical emergencies. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when procedures were added to the Operational policy.
Corrected during the visit
HighDec 8, 2021InspectionBackground checks
Required Personnel Records-Proof of DFPS background checks §746.901(7)
One of the six staff files did not have a background check verification available. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when the eligibility letter was provided and filed.
Corrected during the visit
MediumNov 2, 2021InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Children's Products- Annual Certification §746.4135(b)
The required Consumer Product Safety Commission form was unavailable for review. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when reviewing and posting of the Consumer Product form was provided.
Corrected during the visit
MediumOct 4, 2021InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Liability Insurance §746.801(6)
The liability insurance reviewed online expired on 9/7/2021. This was corrected at inspection when the liability insurance was available and submitted online with an expiration of 9/7/2022.
Corrected during the visit
HighOct 4, 2021InspectionHealth & medication
Storage of Medication - Inaccessible to Children §746.3807(1)
In the PreK Paris classroom children's individual storage bins were observed with sunscreen spray bottles accessible to the children. This was corrected at inspection when the sunscreen spray bottles were removed and stored in the office.
Corrected during the visit

About this center

Licensed capacity73 children
Ages servedToddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours07:00 AM-06:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceDec 17, 2021
DirectorCaroline Olivares-tobar
Phone2109204315
State operation #1725315

Common questions

Does International School of San Antonio take infants?

No. Its Texas license covers toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children, not infants.

What are International School of San Antonio’s hours?

7 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does International School of San Antonio accept child care subsidies?

Not according to its state licensing record. Ask the center directly, since participation can change.

How much does International School of San Antonio cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask International School of San Antonio for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Alamo area, which includes San Antonio, is $40.40 a day for toddlers, $39.20 a day for 3-year-olds and $37.00 a day for school-age children (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has International School of San Antonio had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 6 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Mar 21, 2024: “Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does International School of San Antonio compare with other daycares in San Antonio?

It is tied for #330 of 476 centers in San Antonio by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 26% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was International School of San Antonio last inspected?

May 18, 2026. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 1725315 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.