Walkers Day Care
Walkers Day Care is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 52 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1986. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 14 times and investigated 3 reports. Inspectors recorded 36 citations, 9 of them high-risk, most often for building & playground safety (11 of 36). 1 citation came in the last 12 months. 3% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 3% of licensed centers statewide.
Inspection record
Every state visit
What inspectors cited most
Citations, newest first
There were two active ant beds on the playground.
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that CCR was not notified within the required two-day time frame, when a nine-year-old child was able to leave the operation unattended, and ride a city bus to their grandmother's home.
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that parents were not notified immediately when their nine-year-old child was able to leave the operation unattended.
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that supervision was not maintained when a nine-year-old child was able to leave the operation unattended, and ride a city bus to their grandmother's home.
There were two children ages 14 and 18 months playing on iPads.
The loose fill was approximately two inches deep.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Three large and active ant beds were observed on the playground.
Four of Five employees did not have signed affidavit.
Two of five children's immunization records were not up to date.
An infant was standing in the upper crib with the drop gate in the down position.
Two of Five Children's Records did not have addresses for emergency contacts.
Three of Five Children's records did not have physician's health care statements.
Three of Five Children's records did not have evidence of parent signed operational policies.
I observed a changing pad with open cracks in the pre-k room and a changing pad with straps in the infant room.
Written daily plans posted did not have information identifying dates used or classroom used in.
The light bulb in the school aged room was out, there was a patch of peeling wall in the pre-k room, there were broken toys cluttered in a corner of the playground.
Children were observed using tablets in the pre-k room and cell phones in the school aged room that did not pertain to the activity plan or homework. Both of these were corrected when the caregivers removed the electronic devices from the children.
Two slides did not have loose fill under them. Three platforms did not have loose fill under them.
Three out of three caregivers were missing training in the following required topics; Emergency preparedness; Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases; Administering medication; Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic; Understanding building and physical premises safety; Handling storing, and disposing of hazardous materials
The directors present at the operation was missing training in the following topics; Emergency preparedness,Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases, including immunizations,Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic reacton,Understanding building and physical premises safety and Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials
There was a few broken fence boards and 3 active ant piles on the playground. The director treated the ant piles during inspection.
There were several broken/cracked or missing tiles in the infant room.
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that physical abuse occurred in the operation.
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that a child was inappropriately disciplined when they would not lay down on their nap cot.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
A caregiver responsible for the 3y to 6y old group did not know the correct number of children present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there were 11 children present. There were 12 children present during the inspection after counting.
Four children ranged from 18m to 2 years old were observed during nap time. One child was observed sleeping with a bottle and three were observed sleeping with training/sippy cups.
In the infant room, inspector observed an 8 month old, laying in a crib with a pacifier and pacifier attachment.
The operation is missing how children will be evacuated or relocated to the designated safe area or alternate shelter, including specific procedures for evacuating and relocating children who are under 24 months of age, who have limited mobility, or who otherwise may need assistance in an emergency, such as children who have mental, visual, or hearing impairments from their emergency preparedness plan.
The operation has not practiced a lock down drill. There is no documentation on file at the operation for review.
The operation does not have a building and grounds checklist on file at the operation for review.
The operational policy handbook is missing the safe sleep policy for infants from birth through 12 months old.
The operation has not practiced a severe weather drill. There is no documentation on file at the operation for review.
A childs record evaluated was missing the special needs acknowledgment on their admission form.
A childs record evaluated was missing the name, address, and phone number for their emergency contact person on their admission form. Another childs record evaluated was missing the address for their emergency contact person on their admission form.
About this center
Common questions
Does Walkers Day Care take infants?
Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.
What are Walkers Day Care’s hours?
6 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.
Does Walkers Day Care accept child care subsidies?
Yes, according to its state licensing record.
How much does Walkers Day Care cost?
Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Walkers Day Care for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).
Has Walkers Day Care had any serious violations?
Inspectors recorded 9 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Jul 15, 2025: “Report Situation Placing Children at Risk.” Each one is listed in full above.
How does Walkers Day Care compare with other daycares in Houston?
It is tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 3% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).
When was Walkers Day Care last inspected?
Oct 28, 2025. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.
Licensed centers nearby
3918 Rosemont St, Houston · 0.3 mi away · 55 spotsAmong the most citedSMART Academy
4202 Davenport St, Houston · 0.4 mi away · 41 spotsAbout typicalPooh Bear'z MK#3
4635 Bellfort St, Houston · 0.8 mi away · 33 spotsMore citations than mostKids 'R' People 2 Inc
2725 Reed Rd, Houston · 1.1 mi away · 107 spotsAmong the most citedGeneration One Academy
8955 South Freeway Bldg A, Houston · 1.2 mi away · 102 spotsAbout typicalNurture & Grow Learning Center LLC
3609 Dreyfus St, Houston · 1.3 mi away · 74 spotsMore citations than most
Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.
To see the official record, search operation 156491 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.