Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Wesley Community Center

414 N Matiana Ortiz Blvd, Robstown, TX 78380 · Nueces County
Accepts child care subsidies

Wesley Community Center is a licensed child care center in Robstown, TX, licensed for up to 68 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1987. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 14 times and investigated 3 reports. Inspectors recorded 36 citations, 5 of them high-risk, most often for training & qualifications (14 of 36). 4 citations came in the last 12 months. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is #125 of 125 centers in Nueces County and better than 3% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 3%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. Among the most cited
#125 of 125 centers in Nueces County
5High risk
21Medium High risk
5Medium risk
2Medium Low risk
3Low risk
36 citations from 14 inspections and 2 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 4 in the last 12 months · last inspected Jul 2, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Jul 2, 2026 · Inspection · no citationJun 9, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundJun 18, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundJan 24, 2025 · Assessment · citation foundAug 20, 2024 · Inspection · no citationJul 23, 2024 · Inspection · no citationJul 18, 2024 · Inspection · no citationJul 18, 2024 · Report/investigation · no citationJul 3, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundAug 2, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundJul 7, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundSep 15, 2022 · Inspection · no citationAug 23, 2022 · Inspection · no citationAug 23, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundAug 23, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundAug 9, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundJul 15, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundJul 15, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundMar 2, 2022 · Assessment · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Training & qualifications14
Building & playground safety5
Staff ratios4
Other standards3
Records & paperwork2
Caregiver conduct2
Health & medication2
Supervision2
Food & feeding1
Sleep safety1

Citations, newest first

LowJun 9, 2026InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Certificate Not Renewed §746.1057
The second director has not renewed her director credential since March 2025.
Correction verified Jul 2, 2026
Medium HighJun 9, 2026InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - 30 Annual Training §746.1301(a)(6)(A)
Director did not have the required 30 hours of annual training for the year 2025-2026.
Correction verified Jul 2, 2026
Medium HighJun 9, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment §746.3407
The outdoor toddler fence has a foot of separation from the daycare building to the white fence. This open space allows a child to gain access outside the daycare. The preschool playground consisted of a broken gutter, broken tree branches, and tall grass. The operation also had several ants throughout the entire outdoor area that led into the operation doors and throughout the hallways.
Correction verified Jul 2, 2026
Medium HighJun 9, 2026InspectionTraining & qualifications
CPR Training and Recertification Adhere to Guidelines-skill based §746.1315(b)(1)
Director and 7 Caregivers did not have CPR training that included the use of a manikin.
Correction verified Jul 2, 2026
Medium HighJun 18, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
The center does not have a current health inspection the last health inspection completed was on 7/13/2023.
Correction verified Jun 26, 2025
MediumJun 18, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training- Required Content §746.1309(e)
Two employee records that were reviewed were missing the following required trainings for the previous year: hazardous materials, allergic reactions, medication administration, emergency preparedness, building safety, and communicable diseases.
Correction verified Jul 25, 2025
Medium LowJan 24, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 21, 2025, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Correction verified Mar 13, 2025
Medium HighJul 3, 2024InspectionOther standards
Personal use of electronic devices, such as cell phones, MP3 players, tablets, and video games §746.1203(3)(D)
A child was viewed during nap time on a tablet device.
Correction verified Jul 18, 2024
Medium HighAug 2, 2023InspectionOther standards
Requirement of Gas Leak Inspection §746.5401
The last gas inspection on file was conducted July 3, 2020. Gas inspections are required every 2 years. NOTE: This is a recited deficiency.
Correction verified Sep 21, 2023
Medium HighAug 2, 2023InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required §746.1309(d)
Infant room caregiver did not have certificates of completion on file for the following annual trainings: SIDS, Shaken Baby, and Brain Development. NOTE: This is a recited deficiency.
Correction verified Sep 21, 2023
Medium HighJul 7, 2023InspectionStaff ratios
Food Service and Preparation Requirement - Use Sanitary Holders §746.3317(6)
The snack of Gold Fish was observed being served to the children in two classes directly on the table.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2023
Medium HighJul 7, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal §746.5101(b)
Annual Fire Inspection was not conducted. The last Fire Inspection noted is dated October 27, 2020.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2023
Medium HighJul 7, 2023InspectionTraining & qualifications
Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking. §746.1315(a)
One staff does not have their current First Aid /CPR.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2023
MediumJul 7, 2023InspectionFood & feeding
Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days §746.2421(b)
The Feeding instructions for the Infants are not being updated every 30 days.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2023
Medium HighJul 7, 2023InspectionOther standards
Requirement of Gas Leak Inspection §746.5401
The last Gas inspection noted was conducted July 3, 2020. Gas inspections are to be conducted every 2 years.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2023
Medium HighJul 7, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
The last Annual Health Inspection noted was conducted on April 12, 2022.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2023
MediumJul 7, 2023InspectionTraining & qualifications
First Aid Kit - Incomplete Kit §746.4003(a)
The First Aid Kit was incomplete. The kit was missing the thermometer and scissors.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2023
Medium HighJul 7, 2023InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required §746.1309(d)
Infant room caregiver did not have the required annual trainings in the area of SIDS, Shaken Baby and Brain Development.
Correction verified Aug 2, 2023
Medium HighAug 23, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Employees and Caregivers - 24 Annual Training §746.1301(5)(A)
One caregiver still have not completed training hours for 2022.
Correction verified Sep 15, 2022
HighAug 23, 2022Found during an investigationCaregiver conduct
Prohibited Punishments - Hitting with Hand or Instrument §746.2805(4)
Based on the information gathered and preponderance of evidence, a caregiver slapped a child on the face.
Correction verified Sep 15, 2022
Medium HighAug 9, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Directors 30- Annual Training §746.1301(6)(A)
Director had trainings for the year 2020 but no trainings for the year 2021.
Correction verified Aug 23, 2022
HighAug 9, 2022InspectionHealth & medication
Required Immunizations §746.613(a)
One out of ten children is missing their immunization record.
Correction verified Aug 23, 2022
MediumAug 9, 2022InspectionStaff ratios
Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met §746.1613(a)
At the time of the inspection there was a total of sixteen children combined sleeping in one room. The oldest being four years old and the youngest being fifteen months old.
Correction verified Aug 23, 2022
LowAug 9, 2022InspectionStaff ratios
Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program §746.611(a)(1)
One out of seven children is missing a written health statement.
Correction verified Aug 23, 2022
Medium HighAug 9, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Employees and Caregivers - 24 Annual Training §746.1301(5)(A)
One caregiver still have not completed training hours for 2022.
Correction verified Aug 23, 2022
HighJul 15, 2022Found during an investigationSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Supervision of Children §746.1203(4)
Based on the information gathered and preponderance of evidence, a caregiver was not properly supervising children when she fell asleep during naptime.
Correction verified Aug 23, 2022
HighJul 15, 2022Found during an investigationCaregiver conduct
Responsibilities of Employees and Caregivers -Demonstrate Competency, Good Judgment, Self-control §746.1201(1)
A caregiver was viewed asleep on top of a child during inspection.
Correction verified Aug 23, 2022
MediumJul 15, 2022Found during an investigationSleep safety
Children Not Required to Sleep - May Not Force Child to Sleep §746.2905(1)
Based on the information provided by the caregiver. The caregiver admitted to laying on a child because the child couldn't sleep.
Correction verified Aug 23, 2022
HighJul 15, 2022InspectionHealth & medication
Required Immunizations §746.613(a)
Two out of ten children were missing their immunization records in their file.
Correction verified Aug 9, 2022
Medium HighJul 15, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered §746.3701(1)
In the per school room there were two electrical outlets not covered and accessible to children.
Correction verified Aug 9, 2022
Medium HighJul 15, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR §746.1315(b)
One out of three caregivers did not have their CPR renewed.
Correction verified Aug 9, 2022
Medium HighJul 15, 2022InspectionSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Free of other activities §746.1203(6)
In the infant room a caregiver was seen on her personal cell phone while child was sleeping.
Correction verified Aug 9, 2022
Medium HighJul 15, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Directors 30- Annual Training §746.1301(6)(A)
There were no training hours for the year 2020-2021.
Correction verified Aug 9, 2022
LowJul 15, 2022InspectionStaff ratios
Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program §746.611(a)(1)
Seven out of ten childrens folders were missing a written health statment.
Correction verified Aug 9, 2022
Medium HighJul 15, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Employees and Caregivers - 24 Annual Training §746.1301(5)(A)
One out of three caregivers had no training hours for the year 2021-2022.
Correction verified Aug 9, 2022
Medium LowMar 2, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Mar 4, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity68 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours07:00 AM-06:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceMay 19, 1987
DirectorIrma Quarnstrom
Phone3613871451
State operation #26221

Common questions

Does Wesley Community Center take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are Wesley Community Center’s hours?

7 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Wesley Community Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does Wesley Community Center cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Wesley Community Center for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Coastal Bend area, which includes Robstown, is $35.20 a day for infants, $34.20 a day for toddlers and $33.00 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has Wesley Community Center had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 5 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Aug 23, 2022: “Prohibited Punishments - Hitting with Hand or Instrument.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Wesley Community Center compare with other daycares in Nueces County?

It is #125 of 125 centers in Nueces County by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 3% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Wesley Community Center last inspected?

Jul 2, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 26221 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.