Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center

503 Castroville Rd, San Antonio, TX 78237 · Bexar County
2 high-risk citations in last 12 monthsAccepts child care subsidies

YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center is a licensed child care center in San Antonio, TX, licensed for up to 129 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1986. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 25 times and investigated 10 reports. Inspectors recorded 20 citations, 5 of them high-risk, most often for building & playground safety (5 of 20). 5 citations came in the last 12 months, including 2 high-risk. 5% were corrected during the inspection itself. Its last 2 inspections found no violations. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #235 of 476 centers in San Antonio and better than 43% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 43%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. About typical
Tied for #235 of 476 centers in San Antonio
5High risk
9Medium High risk
5Medium risk
1Medium Low risk
0Low risk
20 citations from 25 inspections and 7 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 5 in the last 12 months · last inspected Jun 16, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Jun 16, 2026 · Inspection · no citationJun 11, 2026 · Inspection · no citationMay 28, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundMay 18, 2026 · Inspection · no citationMay 14, 2026 · Report/investigation · citation foundJan 28, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundDec 1, 2025 · Inspection · no citationNov 4, 2025 · Inspection · no citationOct 27, 2025 · Report/investigation · citation foundSep 17, 2025 · Inspection · no citationAug 18, 2025 · Inspection · no citationAug 7, 2025 · Report/investigation · no citationJul 21, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJul 16, 2025 · Report/investigation · citation foundFeb 4, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundDec 9, 2024 · Inspection · no citationDec 5, 2024 · Report/investigation · citation foundJun 27, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundApr 26, 2024 · Report/investigation · no citationJan 30, 2024 · Inspection · no citationJan 29, 2024 · Report/investigation · no citationJan 22, 2024 · Inspection · no citationJan 19, 2024 · Assessment · citation foundJan 16, 2024 · Inspection · no citationDec 20, 2023 · Inspection · no citationDec 13, 2023 · Inspection · no citationDec 5, 2023 · Report/investigation · no citationSep 13, 2023 · Inspection · no citationJul 27, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundJul 11, 2023 · Inspection · no citationJul 7, 2023 · Report/investigation · citation foundDec 13, 2022 · Inspection · no citationNov 10, 2022 · Inspection · no citationNov 8, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundAug 2, 2022 · Inspection · no citationFeb 2, 2022 · Inspection · no citation
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Building & playground safety5
Records & paperwork3
Caregiver conduct3
Health & medication3
Other standards2
Supervision1
Training & qualifications1
Food & feeding1
Transportation1

Citations, newest first

Medium HighMay 28, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
A current sanitation inspection was not available for review.
Correction verified Jun 5, 2026
HighMay 14, 2026Found during an investigationSupervision
Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity §746.1205(a)(4)
During an investigation, it was determined a child was left unsupervised in a restroom.
Correction verified Jun 11, 2026
MediumMay 14, 2026Found during an investigationRecords & paperwork
Notification of Change in Space §746.301(2)
During an investigation, it was determined the operation did not notify Child Care Regulation of a classroom being set up in the gym of the operation.
Correction verified Jun 11, 2026
MediumJan 28, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Children's Products- Annual Certification §746.4135(b)
The annual certification of the children's products recall form was expired. It was last signed and certified on 11/12/24. Note: This was CORRECTED AT INSPECTION when the director signed and posted a new form.
Corrected during the visit
HighOct 27, 2025Found during an investigationCaregiver conduct
Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling §746.2805(3)
It was determined that prohibited punishment was utilized when a caregiver was observed grabbing and pulling three children.
Correction verified Dec 1, 2025
Medium HighJul 16, 2025Found during an investigationOther standards
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Interact positively with children §746.1203(5)
Based on information gathered, caregiver did not interact with child in a positive manner, when caregiver began to roughly pick up child by one arm, then continued to pick up child under other arm.
Correction verified Sep 17, 2025
MediumFeb 4, 2025InspectionHealth & medication
Children's Records - Health Statement §746.603(a)(3)
2 of 10 child's records are missing the health statement. 1 of 10 child's records is missing an updated immunization record.
Correction verified Mar 3, 2025
Medium HighFeb 4, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact §746.605(6)
3 of the 10 children records are missing emergency contact information. 2 of the 10 children records were missing an admission date. 7 of the 10 childrens records were missing a special care statement.
Correction verified Feb 21, 2025
HighDec 5, 2024Found during an investigationOther standards
Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk §746.307(b)(4)
Based on the interview conducted the operation failed to notify the parent immediately after a situation that placed a child at risk when a tablet was found in a child's hand.
Correction verified Dec 18, 2024
Medium HighJun 27, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Sheltering Drill For Severe Weather-Four times a calendar year §746.5205(2)
No documentation for shelter/weather and lockdown available at the time of inspection. No documentation for May's fire drills.
Correction verified Jul 30, 2024
Medium HighJun 27, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Transportation training §746.1301(a)(7)(A)
Two of the staff who transport didn't have required transportation training available at inspection.
Correction verified Jul 11, 2024
MediumJun 27, 2024InspectionFood & feeding
Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days §746.2421(b)
Two of the infant children did not have an undated feeding schedule at the time of the inspection.
Correction verified Jul 11, 2024
Medium HighJun 27, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
The last health inspection posted was conducted on 3.22.23.
Correction verified Jul 30, 2024
Medium HighJun 27, 2024InspectionTransportation
Plan to Handle Transportation Emergencies §746.5619
A written policy on a plan to handle a transportation emergency was unavailable at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Jul 26, 2024
Medium HighJun 27, 2024InspectionHealth & medication
Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current §746.613(b)
Four of the ten children files didn't have an updated immunization records at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Jul 26, 2024
Medium HighJun 27, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures §746.5202(1)
The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for evacuating infants under 24 months of age, who have limited mobility, or who otherwise may need assistance in an emergency, such as children who have mental, visual, or hearing. The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for how the staff will continue to care for the children until each child has been released. The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for how the children will be ununified with their parents when evacuating.
Correction verified Jul 26, 2024
Medium LowJan 19, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
The operation did not report the number of employees who ceased employment in 2023 by the required date.
Correction verified Jan 23, 2024
MediumJul 27, 2023InspectionHealth & medication
Children's Records - Immunizations §746.603(a)(4)
Two of six child files did not have an up to date immunization record.
Correction verified Aug 4, 2023
HighJul 7, 2023Found during an investigationCaregiver conduct
Responsibilities of Employees and Caregivers -Demonstrate Competency, Good Judgment, Self-control §746.1201(1)
During an investigation, it has been determined that caregivers did not portray good judgement while allowing a nine-year-old child to be present in the infant classrooms with the infant children.
Correction verified Sep 13, 2023
HighNov 8, 2022Found during an investigationCaregiver conduct
Prohibited Punishments - No Harsh, Cruel or Unusual §746.2805
During an investigation, it has been determined that there was an incident of harsh treatment conducted toward a child while in care.
Correction verified Dec 13, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity129 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours07:00 AM-05:30 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceApr 11, 1986
DirectorAnita Castellanos
Phone2104339922
State operation #63207

Common questions

Does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center’s hours?

7 AM to 5:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Alamo area, which includes San Antonio, is $42.00 a day for infants, $40.40 a day for toddlers and $39.20 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 5 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on May 14, 2026: “Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center compare with other daycares in San Antonio?

It is tied for #235 of 476 centers in San Antonio by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 43% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center last inspected?

Jun 16, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 63207 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.