Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Academy of Little Scholars

8802 W Montgomery Rd, Houston, TX 77088 · Harris County
Conditions on permitAccepts child care subsidies

Academy of Little Scholars is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 46 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1998. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 5 times. Inspectors recorded 21 citations, 1 of them high-risk, most often for training & qualifications (9 of 21). 10 citations came in the last 12 months. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #825 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 1% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 1%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. Among the most cited
Tied for #825 of 882 centers in Houston
1High risk
9Medium High risk
8Medium risk
3Medium Low risk
0Low risk
21 citations from 5 inspections and 0 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 10 in the last 12 months · last inspected Oct 14, 2025

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Jan 21, 2026 · Assessment · citation foundOct 14, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundJan 17, 2025 · Assessment · citation foundOct 28, 2024 · Inspection · no citationNov 10, 2023 · Inspection · no citationNov 15, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundMar 2, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundJan 4, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundNov 19, 2021 · Inspection · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Training & qualifications9
Records & paperwork5
Building & playground safety4
Food & feeding2
Health & medication1

Citations, newest first

Medium LowJan 21, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
Correction verified Jan 27, 2026
Medium HighOct 14, 2025InspectionHealth & medication
Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current §746.613(b)
A child's affidavit for exemption for immunization expired on February 28, 2024.
Correction verified Oct 28, 2025
MediumOct 14, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment §746.1309(c)
A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.
Correction verified Oct 24, 2025
MediumOct 14, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training- Required Content §746.1309(e)
A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing emergency preparedness training.
Correction verified Oct 24, 2025
MediumOct 14, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment §746.1311(c)
The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.
Correction verified Oct 24, 2025
MediumOct 14, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Additional required topics §746.1311(e)
The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing Emergency preparedness, administering medication, food or an allergic reaction, and Handling and storing training.
Correction verified Oct 24, 2025
MediumOct 14, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Measurement of Use Zone for Stationary Equipment §746.4803
CCR observed stationary equipment positioned less than six feet from the perimeter.
Correction verified Nov 4, 2025
Medium HighOct 14, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing §746.4901(a)
The loose-fill in the playground consists of less than an inch of mulch.
Correction verified Nov 4, 2025
Medium HighOct 14, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months §746.1311(d)
The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing the required training for caring for children under 24 months.
Correction verified Oct 24, 2025
MediumOct 14, 2025InspectionFood & feeding
Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days §746.2421(b)
An infant feeding sheet for the month of October was not available during the inspection.
Correction verified Nov 4, 2025
Medium LowJan 17, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Correction verified Jan 23, 2025
HighNov 15, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Policies Comply with Rules §746.201(1)
The operational policies does not include the following information: 1. The benefits of physical activity and outdoor play; the duration of physical activity at your operation, both indoor and outdoor; type of physical activity children will participate in; each setting in which your physical activity program will take place; recommended clothing and footwear; plan for physical activity when the weather prevents outside activities. 2. Instructions on how parents may contact the local Child Care Regulation Office. 3. Safe sleep policy for infants 12 months old and younger. 4. Staff vaccination policy.
Correction verified Dec 19, 2022
Medium HighNov 15, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Infant Daily Report - Share with Parent §746.2431
Daily infant reports are not being completed and provided to the parents.
Correction verified Dec 8, 2022
MediumNov 15, 2022InspectionFood & feeding
Written Feeding Instructions - Signed and Dated by Parent or Health-Care Professional §746.2421(a)
Written feeding instructions were not available for one infant.
Correction verified Dec 8, 2022
Medium HighNov 15, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required §746.1309(d)
One caregiver did not receive training in Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. The caregiver will need to receive make-up training hours that will not count towards the current training year.
Correction verified Dec 8, 2022
Medium HighNov 15, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months §746.1311(d)
The director did not receive training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma, Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.
Correction verified Dec 8, 2022
Medium HighNov 15, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and directors - Pediatric CPR §746.1301(4)(A)
Of the four personnel records evaluated, two have not completed a valid CPR training course. The caregivers completed a CPR training course on-line.
Correction verified Dec 8, 2022
MediumNov 15, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training- Required Content §746.1309(e)
Two caregivers were lacking training in the following topics: Caregiver A needs training in administering medications, food allergies and handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. Caregiver B needs training in handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.
Correction verified Dec 8, 2022
Medium LowMar 2, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required
Correction verified Apr 8, 2022
Medium HighJan 4, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.
Correction verified Jan 4, 2022
Medium HighNov 19, 2021InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.
Correction verified Jan 4, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity46 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours06:00 AM-06:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceSep 2, 1998
DirectorMonica Applewhite
Phone2818203332
State operation #535288

Common questions

Does Academy of Little Scholars take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are Academy of Little Scholars’s hours?

6 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Academy of Little Scholars accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does Academy of Little Scholars cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Academy of Little Scholars for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has Academy of Little Scholars had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 1 high-risk citation since 2021. The most recent was on Nov 15, 2022: “Policies Comply with Rules.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Academy of Little Scholars compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #825 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 1% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Academy of Little Scholars last inspected?

Oct 14, 2025. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 535288 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.