La Petite Academy
La Petite Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 102 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1986. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 16 times and investigated 4 reports. Inspectors recorded 31 citations, 3 of them high-risk, most often for building & playground safety (9 of 31). 6 citations came in the last 12 months. 6% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #598 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 11% of licensed centers statewide.
Inspection record
Every state visit
What inspectors cited most
Citations, newest first
The operation has three playground equipment that does not meet the required six inches of loose fill.
CCR reviewed the operation's fire drill practices and found that the fire drills were not completed within three minutes for the months of March, April, and May.
The operation's current health inspection report was not available during the inspection.
The operation failed to report to licesning a change in director.
During the inspection I observed one caregiver caring for 17 children with a specified age group of 2 years. Raito is 1:11, the caregiver was over ratio by 6.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
During the inspection it was found 4 out of 7 child records did not have a health statement on file.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
The operation does not have a written agreement in regard to the parent providing snacks for their child while in care.
A child went over more than 3 hours without eating while in care at the operation.
I was able to see four out of the five caregiver training. One caregiver is still missing the training documentation.
One child is missing immunization recrods.
A caregiver did not wash their hands after cleaning a child's nose.
In the toddler classroom they was a child that was 17 months old the oldest child in the class was 3 years old, which is more then 18 months older then the youngest child.
The operation did not have an updated fire inspection report.
Six infants did not have an updated feeding instruction form.
In the operational policies the operation did not have how parents could find the most recent inspection report or how the parent could contact the local licensing office.
They was not documentation for training hours for the director or five caregivers.
In the pre-K classroom they was paint coming off the wall and in the pre-school classroom board coming off the wall.
The cots in the toddler classroom were not labeled.
The emergency preparedness plan is missing how children 24 months and with limited mobility, will be evacuated out of the operation.
Two infants were observed without safety straps in highchairs. Corrected: When the caregiver fastened the safety straps.
The operation did not conduct a fire drill the month of February.
The operation did not report to licensing that a part of their building unsafe and unsanitary for children.
One of the children were observed to have allergies and did not have a food allergy plan.
It was observed the operation did not have the most updated sanitation inspection. The last inspection was 2/22/2022.
The caregiver stated they had 15 children, when I counted it was 16 children in care. Corrected: When the caregiver ensure all children were checked in and recounted the children.
The child was left alone in a classroom unsupervised by a caregiver.
An caregiver was missing a affidavit in their file.
The director did not have a time sheet or documentation on when she is in the operation.
In the two year old classroom all cots were not labeled with children's names or numbers
About this center
Common questions
Does La Petite Academy take infants?
Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.
What are La Petite Academy’s hours?
6:30 AM to 6:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.
Does La Petite Academy accept child care subsidies?
Yes, according to its state licensing record.
How much does La Petite Academy cost?
Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask La Petite Academy for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).
Has La Petite Academy had any serious violations?
Inspectors recorded 3 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on May 31, 2024: “Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months.” Each one is listed in full above.
How does La Petite Academy compare with other daycares in Houston?
It is tied for #598 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 11% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).
When was La Petite Academy last inspected?
May 26, 2026. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.
Licensed centers nearby
1981 W T C Jester Blvd, Houston · 0.1 mi away · 72 spotsMore citations than mostMiss Pattycake Childcare of Heights
1532 W 25th St, Houston · 0.6 mi away · 134 spotsMore citations than mostHeights Garden Montessori
1505 W 25th St, Houston · 0.6 mi away · 57 spotsAmong the most citedAfter 3 After School Program at Sinclair E.S
6410 Grovewood Ln, Houston · 0.6 mi away · 300 spotsMore citations than mostPrinciprin School
2931 W 12th St, Houston · 0.7 mi away · 471 spotsMore citations than mostPrinciprin School 2
3640 W 12th St, Houston · 1.0 mi away · 240 spotsFewer citations than most
Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.
To see the official record, search operation 133307- 684 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.