Primrose School of Upper Kirby
Primrose School of Upper Kirby is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 207 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2016. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 20 times and investigated 5 reports. Inspectors recorded 18 citations, 9 of them high-risk, most often for supervision (6 of 18). 3 citations came in the last 12 months, including 3 high-risk. 17% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #377 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 32% of licensed centers statewide.
Inspection record
Every state visit
What inspectors cited most
Citations, newest first
Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.
Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.
Based upon the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was left on the playground unsupervised.
A caregiver was observed grabbing a child during the follow-up inspection.
A caregiver did know the number of children in care. The caregiver stated there were 6 children present and there was only 5 children.
A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care.
Based upon the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was pulled while in care.
Proof of current liability insurance was unavailable upon request.
A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care.
Based on the information obtained during the DFPS investigation it was determined a caregiver used prohibited punishment by grabbing a child.
The operation failed to inactivate two staff members background checks who are no longer employed at the operation with seven days of leaving the operation. One staff member last date of employment was on 9/9/2022 and the other staff member last date of employment was on 9/13/2022. Note: The two staff members background check were inactivated during the inspection.
A caregiver responsible for the 1yr. and 2yr. olds did not state the correct number of children currently present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there were 10 children. There were 9 children currently present.
The center director is missing 12 of 30 annual training hours.
A caregiver in the infant room (3m to 7m) did not state the correct number of children present. The caregiver stated there were 8 children present but there were 7 children currently present.
A child with a diagnosed food allergy and that requires an epipen is missing their parent signature on the food allergy emergency form. Note: The food allergy emergency form was signed by the child's parent during the inspection.
Five infants who are not ready for table food did not have updated feeding instruction sheets. Note: The infant feeding sheets were updated during the inspection.
Four personnel records evaluated were missing 24 annual training hours.
Six children records reviewed were missing the emergency contact information from their files.
About this center
Common questions
Does Primrose School of Upper Kirby take infants?
Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.
What are Primrose School of Upper Kirby’s hours?
6:30 AM to 6:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.
Does Primrose School of Upper Kirby accept child care subsidies?
Not according to its state licensing record. Ask the center directly, since participation can change.
How much does Primrose School of Upper Kirby cost?
Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Primrose School of Upper Kirby for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).
Has Primrose School of Upper Kirby had any serious violations?
Inspectors recorded 9 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Jul 16, 2026: “Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months.” Each one is listed in full above.
How does Primrose School of Upper Kirby compare with other daycares in Houston?
It is tied for #377 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 32% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).
When was Primrose School of Upper Kirby last inspected?
Jul 27, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.
Licensed centers nearby
2920 Virginia St, Houston · 0.4 mi away · 76 spotsAbout typicalHouse At Pooh Corner INC
2808 Ferndale St, Houston · 0.5 mi away · 161 spotsFewer citations than mostPrimrose School at Greenway Plaza
3 Greenway Plz Ste 100, Houston · 0.5 mi away · 90 spotsMore citations than mostBethany Christian School
3223 Westheimer Rd, Houston · 0.6 mi away · 115 spotsFewer citations than mostChildren Today @ Lamar High School
3325 Westheimer Rd, Houston · 0.6 mi away · 126 spotsAmong the most citedFirst Steps Montessori School
2450 River Oaks Blvd, Houston · 0.7 mi away · 140 spotsMore citations than most
Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.
To see the official record, search operation 1623720 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.